Handgun Safety Course

Learn before you load.  Arm yourself with knowledge including:

  • important information about permit requirements
  • legal responsibilities
  • and cleaning
  • safe storage and childproofing.

Learn from experienced NYS DCJS certified Firearms Instructors in this one-time, four (4) hour safety course. Fulfills requirements for obtaining a pistol permit in Onondaga, Cayuga, Madison, Oswego & Seneca counties; residents of other counties should verify w/their Sheriff's Office if course is accepted.  Call 315-498-6042 for more information.

Please bring photo identification.  Do not bring firearms to this class! No other materials are needed for this class.

Register online - Or if you prefer to register by mail / fax / email, download the Fall '14 Registration Form. Please note - we cannot accept registration by phone.

Course Prefix & #: HGS.CE-001
Title: Handgun Safety 

Tuition: $39

  Term   Section Name   Day   Date of Class   Time   Location Reg Deadline
CE14FA HGS.ce-001-016 Thurs December 18, 2014 6:00-10:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 12/15/14
CE14FA HGS.ce-001-015 Tues December 23, 2014 5:30-9:30pm Bass Pro Shops – Auburn 12/16/14
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-001 Sat January 10, 2015 10:00am-2:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 1/7/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-002 Thurs January 15, 2015 6:00-10:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 1/12/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-003 Sat January 17, 2015 8:00am-12:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 1/14/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-004 Tues January 27, 2015 5:30-9:30pm Bass Pro Shops – Auburn 1/20/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-005 Tues February 10, 2015 5:30-9:30pm Bass Pro Shops – Auburn 2/7/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-006 Thurs February 12, 2015 6:00-10:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 2/9/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-007 Sat February 21, 2015 9:00am-1:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 2/18/15
CE15WI HGS.ce-001-008 Tues February 24, 2015 5:30-9:30pm Bass Pro Shops – Auburn 2/17/15

Tuition: $39

* Get directions to these locations.