Five Students Honored with SUNY Chancellor's Awards

Chancellor's Selfie

Five Onondaga Community College students were honored in April with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence. The awards, which were presented by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher at a ceremony at the Empire State Plaza in Albany, honors State University of New York students from across the state who have demonstrated the ability to combine academic excellence with other accomplishments, which may include leadership, campus involvement, athletics, career achievement, community service or creative and performing arts.

Onondaga’s five honorees are:

  • Christopher Ellis, Engineering Science and Electrical Engineering Technology
  • Emir Ljuca, Engineering Science
  • Rebekah Tanner, Humanities
  • Casey Taylor, Humanities
  • Zachary Traver, Business Administration

“Students honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence truly embody the power of SUNY,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “As proven leaders and role models, scholar athletes, creative artists, and civic volunteers, each student is recognized not just for academic achievement, but also for the profound impact they have on college campuses and local communities across New York State. Congratulations to the Onondaga Community College students being recognized today.”

“We are thrilled to have five of our students honored by the Chancellor for excellence at a statewide level. It’s a tremendous testament to their commitment to their education and their efforts outside the classroom to make the community a better place for all of us. We are proud of each of them and commend them on their accomplishments,” said Onondaga President Dr. Casey Crabill.