Onondaga Community College Board of Trustees Education Committee Meeting Tuesday, October 1, 2019 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. W210

Presiding: Trustee Jaime Alicea

Trustees: Jaimie Alicea; Melanie Littlejohn; Tara Owens; John Sindoni; Mark Tryniski

Staff: Dr. Agatha Awuah; Mary Lee Berg; Anne Marie Bernardoni; Kimberly Blanchet; Dr. Rob Bridge; Dr. Rodrigo Carraminana; Dr. Gerardo Cummings; Anne DeLand; Erin Fassinger; Dr. Justin Fiene; David Furney; Jason Furney; Sarah Gaffney; Dr. Christina Granato; Michael Grieb; Linda Kelley; Dr. Patrick Kenny; Amy Kremenek; Mark Manning; Dr. Lisa Miller; Roger Mirabito; Dr. Art Peterson; Buffy Quinn; Bridget Scholl; Nina Tamrowski; Wendy Tarby; Lindsey Turk; Anastasia Urtz; Marie Vasek; Leanne Waterman; Dr. Shawn Wiemann

Call to Order

At 8:05 a.m., Trustee Alicea called the Education Committee meeting to order.

Faculty Senate

Trustee Alicea introduced Nina Tamrowski, Faculty Senate President, to provide an update. Professor Tamrowski explained that she was elected to this position in May 2019 and presided over her first faculty meeting in August 2019. She mentioned that the Schools concept has been widely accepted by the faculty with a few tweaks and they have approved the formation of an ad hoc committee on micro-credentials which will create specific chunks of courses. She said we will hear more about new programs later on in the meeting today. The Curriculum Committee is working on a mentoring program for new faculty who are involved in new program development. The Title III collaboration with faculty and staff is strong and a re-design of math developmental ed courses is in process. The faculty, despite the rough news on enrollment, are working hard.

<u>Updates</u>

Trustee Alicea introduced Anastasia Urtz, Interim Provost, to provide an update on previously approved feasibility studies. She began with an update on Sound Recording, A.S. (originally approved as Sound Engineering); Electromechanical: Drone Technology, A.A.S.; Health Sciences, A.S. and Health Studies Certificate; and Geospatial Science Technology, A.A.S. Drs. Bridge and Miller, faculty from the Music Department, provided an update on Sound Recording, A.S. They began with a review of the mission and rationale of the new program along with learning outcomes and the current state of the program, which is anticipated to start Fall 2020. Work continues with internships in the hopes to create a small fixed studio in the Music Department for recording projects. Dr. Peterson and Professor Grieb, Applied Engineering Technology, provided an update on the Electromechanical: Drone Technology, A.A.S. suite of degrees. Dr. Peterson explained that this is not only drone technology but proposed new focus areas of Digital Drafting and Design, A.A.S., Robotics Technology, A.A.S., and Hydraulics Technology, A.A.S. Professor Grieb discussed the case for these programs and the core platform with which they were designed. They then reviewed next steps to bring these programs to fruition. Professors Waterman and Berg provided an overview of the Health Studies Certificate

and Health Studies, A.S. They provided an overview of what the certificate and degree program would entail along with the employment opportunities available within each program. They anticipate these programs being available for fall 2020. The last program to be discussed was the Geospatial Science Technology, A.A.S. degree. Dr. Fiene and Professor Quinn provided an overview of the proposed curriculum and industry partners and their work with a potential certificate program and micro-credentialing option. They reviewed next steps for the programs and the anticipated community engagement.

*Resolution to Endorse a Feasibility Study for New Academic Programs

On motion from Trustee Littlejohn and seconded by Trustee Owens, the resolution to endorse a feasibility study for new academic programs was unanimously approved.

There being no further business, Trustee Alicea adjourned the Education Committee meeting at 8:55 a.m.

Prepared by: Submitted by:

Julie Hart Jaime Alicea

Secretary, Board of Trustees Chair, Education Committee